ADCs

Innovationen for a
better world

We supply the keys to new therapies

Antibody Drug Conjugates (ADCs) are a new approach in the development of innovative drugs for cancer therapy. This fundamental technology has already been described in 1908 by Paul Ehrlich and awarded with the Nobel Prize in Medicine. Human antibodies are coupled to highly potent toxins (conjugation) to selectively kill cancer cells and facilitate healing. This technology also reduces side effects.

Leading biotech and pharmaceutical companies rely on Cfm Oskar Tropitzsch GmbH in the sustainable sourcing of toxins as payloads for ADCs – including substances with IC50 values in the picomolar range and novel or special mode of action.

Another challenge is the worldwide logistic of highly-potent products, to meet all country-specific requirements. The active exchange with ADC experts worldwide enables us to offer additional services: we provide conjugation partners, contract manufacturing specialists and safety rating experts.

Our service includes the active marketing of potential payload candidates, often discovered by innovative start-ups. The „young savages“ see in the marketing of their substances the clear advantage of having access to the existing, dense global Cfm network.

The Cfm-Team would like to make your life easier and therefore we provide a SD-File which includes all payloads and reagents for Antibody Drug Conjugation (ADC).

Cfm Oskar Tropitzsch GmbH supplies unique molecules as payloads for ADCs.

These payloads are highly and ultra-toxic drugs, i.e. cytotoxic and/or cytostatic molecules, effective at a low dosage and therefore classified as highly potent APIs (HPAPIs)

Request the Structure Data File (SDF)

The Poison of the green death cap mushroom

Alpha-Amanitin for ADC Applications

We are active in the product segment of Antibody Drug Conjugates since 2014 and are mainly working on the payload side. First substances were quickly established in the market. As a competent partner, Cfm Oskar Tropitzsch GmbH was soon asked for alpha-amanitin, the highly potent poison of the green death cap mushroom, which is acting in the picomolar range.

Toxins generally require special treatment; but such poisons were something special even for us. Our team led by Michael Schäffler bundled the know-how, found trustworthy sources and solutions for secure logistics right up to the first customers on the US West Coast.

After research and due diligence, we found a highly qualified manufacturer in Europe who had been working with alpha-amanitin for several years and perfected the extraction from the green death cap mushroom. The challenges were that green dash cap mushrooms can not be cultivated and about one gram of alpha-amanitin requires about 20 kilograms of fresh, wild collected mushrooms. We had inquiries for more than 10 grams, and the tendency was increasing.

To find a solution, our team became creative: we wondered if the production of alpha-amanitin would be possible by fermentation. Such a process could equalize the supply bottleneck, lower the price and thus accelerate research at universities and research institutions.

Michael Schäffler used his contacts, explained challenges, set transparency in the market overview and convinced a long-time Cfm partner company of the project.

A detailed consideration of risk and potential resulted in an „Go“ for the screening to find the right strain. Not even six months after the launch of this project, we were able to safely supply alpha-amanitin by fermentation. Our partner established a reproducible process for production and purification. With a significantly reduced price, we took responsiblity for our clients in order to speed up research to cure patients.

ADCs Production
ADCs Project of the year

Michael Schäffler
Senior Project Manager

Project of the year 2016

Gewinner des Exportpreis Bayern im Bereich Dienstleistungen

ADCs

Innovationen für eine
bessere Welt

Wir liefern die Schlüssel zu neuen Therapien

Antibody Drug Conjugates (ADCs) sind ein neuer Ansatz in der Entwicklung innovativer Medikamente für die Krebstherapie. Die grundlegende Technologie wurde bereits 1908 von Paul Ehrlich erforscht und mit dem Medizin-Nobelpreis ausgezeichnet. Humane Antikörper werden mit hochpotenten Toxinen verbunden (konjugiert), um gezielt Krebszellen zu töten und Heilung zu ermöglichen. Die Technologie verringert zudem Nebenwirkungen.

Führende Biotech- und Pharmaunternehmen vertrauen der Cfm Oskar Tropitzsch GmbH im nachhaltigen Sourcing von Toxinen als Payloads für ADCs – unter anderem Substanzen mit IC50-Werten im Picomolarbereich und speziellen Wirkmechanismen (Modes of Action).

Eine Herausforderung ist die weltweite Logistik von hochpotenten Produkten, die alle länderspezifischen Besonderheiten erfüllen muss. Der aktive Austausch mit ADC-Experten ermöglicht uns den Aufbau weiterer Dienstleistungen: Wir vermitteln Konjugationspartner, Spezialisten für Auftragsherstellungen und Fachleute für Sicherheitseinstufungen.

Unsere Dienstleistungen umfassen auch das aktive Vermarkten von potenziellen Payload-Kandidaten, die oft von innovativen Start-Ups entdeckt werden. Die „jungen Wilden“ sehen bei der Vermarktung ihrer Substanzen den klaren Vorteil des bestehenden, weltweiten dichten Cfm-Netzwerks.

Das Gift des Knollenblätterpilzes

Wir erschließen Alpha-Amanitin für die ADC-Anwendung

Wir agieren seit 2014 im Produktsegment Antibody Drug Conjugates und beschäftigen uns hauptsächlich mit Payloads. Erste Substanzen wurden zügig im Markt etabliert. Als kompetenter Partner wurde die Cfm Oskar Tropitzsch GmbH schon bald um alpha-Amanitin angefragt, dem hochpotenten Gift des grünen Knollenblätterpilzes, das bereits im Picomolarbereich wirkt.

Toxine verlangen generell spezielle Behandlung; derartige Gifte waren aber selbst für uns etwas Besonderes. Unser Team um Michael Schäffler bündelte das Know-how, fand vertrauenswürdige Quellen und Lösungen für die sichere Logistik bis zu den ersten Kunden an der US-Westküste.

Nach Recherche und Due-Diligence fanden wir einen hochqualifizierten Hersteller in Europa, der schon mehrere Jahre lang mit alpha-Amanitin arbeitete und die Extraktion aus dem grünen Knollenblätterpilz realisierte. Herausforderungen waren, dass sich Knollenblätterpilze nicht kultivieren lassen und für ein Gramm alpha-Amanitin etwa 20 Kilogramm frische Pilze benötigt werden. Wir hatten Anfragen für mehr als 10 Gramm vorliegen, Tendenz steigend.

Um eine Lösung zu finden, wurde unser Team kreativ: Wir fragten uns, ob die Produktion von alpha-Amanitin per Fermentation möglich wäre. Das Verfahren könnte den Versorgungsengpass egalisieren, den Preis senken und so die Forschung an Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen forcieren. Michael Schäffler nutzte seine Kontakte, erklärte Herausforderungen, setzte bei der Marktübersicht auf Transparenz und überzeugte ein langjähriges Cfm-Partnerunternehmen von dem Vorhaben.

Nach dessen eingehender Risiko- und Potential- Abwägung kam das „Go“ für ein Screening nach dem richtigen Stamm. Nicht einmal sechs Monate nach diesem Startschuss gelang es uns, alpha-Amanitin per Fermentation sicher herzustellen und einen reproduzierbaren Prozess für Produktion und Aufreinigung zu etablieren. Mit einem deutlich niedrigeren Preisniveau wurden wir unserer Verantwortung gegenüber unseren Kunden, ihrer Forschung und nicht zuletzt den Patienten gerecht.

ADCs Production
ADCs Project of the year

Michael Schäffler
Senior Project Manager

Project of the year 2016
Gewinner des Exportpreis Bayern im Bereich Dienstleistungen